Happy-International-Womens-day-bitches

I wish I could figure out how to have music playing as this blog is opened to be read. You would most definitely be hearing Beyonce’s “Run The World!”. Did you know that today is International Women’s Day? Well, it is! So if you didn’t already have a reason to pour yourself a drink, consider this a good one. If you’re a man and you’re reading my blog, Thanks Dude! But today is not your day. Go pour your woman a drink. Make it a stiff whiskey, with lots of ice. Thanks, babe. Now, run along. 🙂

Women, can I just say, are fantastic. I love women. Think about all the fabulous females in your life. There are so many!!! The best part about being a woman is that it is like an instant pass into a club that really does control the world. After all, we do create all our new members from scratch! Men might have a little something to do with it I guess but let’s face it, women do all the work and deserve all the credit. No man ever gets a free pass into the women’s club. They have to hold our purses and sit out in the hallway during our meetings where we discuss how effing painful childbirth was and how annoying it is to get your period the day you fly out for your tropical vacation. Why? Because men, say it with me ladies, “Will Never Understand.”

I don’t claim to have a clue what it’s like to be a man, or how hard it is, but I gotta say, I don’t care. I’m sure they sit around smoking their cigars at their meetings whining about “pressure” and “expectations” and “body hair” but BOO HOO! Being a woman is hard! If you were born a woman in many parts of the world, you have it wayyy worse than we do here in the land of golden opportunities, let me tell ya, so a big shout out to all those ladies still struggling under the thumb of their male oppressors. I count my blessings. And I thank all the strong ones that came before me to make my life easier. Women’s Rights history is very interesting and I really do encourage you to take some time today to do a little internet researching just as a reminder of how strong and courageous our female predecessors have been in order to get us to this point, where I as a 32 year old divorced mother of 3 can sit in the livingroom of the home that I own and type out my own personal opinions freely to share with the world. Ain’t life grand?

But admittedly, when I started copying and pasting names and dates of famous women and important dates in history, it seemed a little boring (Sorry!). What I really want to talk about is the sisterhood. The sisterhood of the badass women in my life.

Let’s start with Mother. THIS was not my mother.
539764_10152750732370001_1245705453_n

My mother by all accounts was a firecracker (and still is). Like many moms, she was a teen mom, and got married at age 17. Quit highschool to raise her baby boy. Subsequently gave up on many of her hopes and dreams, I’m sure, and traded them in for the life of a farm wife and a stay at home mom, and a damn good one. Mom eventually got her G.E.D. and became one of the most active members of our community, coaching every sport we every participated in and playing many sports herself, often the president or organizer of every club in town. Mom was busy! She always had homecooked meals on the table, always looked pretty, and always had a good time. And, she raised me, so she did something right :). But even in spite of all these accomplishments and achievements, one of the strongest memories I have of my mother is of Saturday mornings, when some jerk neighbor would always stop in for coffee and wake us kids up with his loud booming voice. This guy had “Opinions”, and a lot of them were about women. This pissed my mom off. My mom hates to get up early but when this douchebag would show up, she would get her ass down to the kitchen table and put on the coffee for this guy, because mom was many things but Afraid of a Fight she was not. She used to dish it out to this guy and I would sit at the top of the stairs listening, and smiling to myself. I loved her for that, and I still do. I always kind of wondered why she cared so much about what men thought about women, but now that I’m a woman, I know. Somebody has to stand up for us, and guess what ladies, we got legs! Use ’em! She went on to become succesful in a career of her chosing and kicks ass on a daily basis. Thanks mom!

Now where did a little firecracker like that come from? Grandma. I wish I knew more about Grandma, she’s still kickin so I guess I will ask her one of these days. What I remember of Grandma from my childhood was the usual Grandma stuff…she taught me how to roll out piecrust and always let us roll our icecream cones in coconut, which I still do from time to time. But what I also remember is that Grandma listened to Grandpa. What he says, goes, as they say. If Grandpa wanted a sandwich, Grandma went to the kitchen and made him a sandwich. I used to really question why Grandma would let a man tell her what to do. But Grandma was from a different time, of course, and this is how she was raised. To be a caregiver. It always seemed like Grandma was dependant on Grandpa. Well let me tell you something about Grandma. That woman was stunningly beautiful. (Still is, aren’t you Granny?!) She managed to pick up a new job in every town that Grandpa moved her to, all around the world, and make friends, and build a life, and take care of her 3 girls, and teach them what it means to be a strong woman when all you want to do is go to bed and cry. And she might jump up and make Grandpa a sandwich when he wants one, because she loves him, and respects him, but you can bet your ass that Grandpa would be totally lost without that woman and he knows it. And Grandma knows it to. Grandma has all the power.

Now, who’s next? Have to give a shout out to my Aunts. I read somewhere that only an Aunt can give hugs like a mother, keep secrets like a sister, and share love like a friend. This is totally true. I have a gorgeous rainbow of aunts, and I am so thankful for all of them. As I grow older, they are becoming more and more like best friends. Your aunts are full of valuable information. They know what a bad girl your mom was when she was a teenager. They know what it’s like to be a sister. Most importantly, they know what it’s like to be a woman, and when you are 12 years old and entering puberty they can warn you about it without all the embarrassment that comes along with talking to your mother sometimes but with WAAAYYY more knowledge than your best friend. Aunts are in your corner. I thank God for my Aunties.

Which brings me to sisters. I have ONE, and if she’s reading this right now, she’s dying because she’s afraid I will reveal something about her get all mushy. Sisters are a curse when you are growing up. They’re annoying. They steal your stuff, they embarrass you around boys, they bug you when you have friends over. They kick you when you have to share a hotel bed. They steal your “Book of Red Hot Numbers” and bring it out at your 30th birthday party. But guess what? They know everything about you. They know why you are the way you are. They, more than ANYBODY else in the world, understand you. Sisters are the Presidents of the Sisterhood. When you get older, suddenly a strange thing happens. You begin to want her around. You call her to bitch about your mom (Sorry mom! 🙂 ) You call her to bitch about your man. You call her to bitch about your kids, and you listen as she bitches about hers. You both see the same ridiculous person and laugh hysterically through eye contact only. Sisters are life’s greatest blessing. My sister is one of the strongest bitches I know, and I fear her a little. In our relationship, she’s the boss, but that’s ok, it’s her turn.

418

Now on to the best part of being a woman…..GIRLFRIENDS! These bags are my reason for living some days. As life changes, your girlfriends change, it’s inevitable, but I’ve always chosen ladies to be in my “wolfpack” who are funny, crazy, and like to drink and swear. Women who like to have a good time! Women who can tell you the truth!
funny-old-ladies
A good girlfriend is one who lets you bitch and complain and cry about your shitty situation, and then pours you a shot and tells you to get over it. Women need girlfriends. Women need an escape from their kids, their husbands, their bosses, their responsibilities, and who better to escape to than another cranky woman who is also tired of everyone’s bullshit and totally understands? The older I get, the more I appreciate the importance of besties. I can say anything to my girls. I can be honest. I can go shopping for hours with them and not have to worry about how long they have been waiting for me on the bench outside the store! If you are my age or older, you remember these ladies….
golden-girls-tv-show-071
And I bet you’ve probably assigned a Golden Girl personality to each one of your friends at some point or another. For the record, I’m Blanche. ha ha ha. Every group needs one, and let’s face it, she’s the most fun! The reason this show was so popular was because it’s true…women love each other and also love to hate each other, which can lead do all kinds of comical drama that makes for perfect sitcom fodder. But the moral of every episode was the same…no matter what kind of crazy shit goes down, your girlfriends are always going to be there for you. With cheesecake. And you know what they say, your girlfriends are probably going to outlive your husband, so you better pick good ones!
3f91b083714925bddb65975eabc8f524

When my daughter was born, my mother, my sister, and my best friend were all there. They helped me welcome my baby girl into the wonderful sisterhood of women in my life. She, like the long line of sparklers that came before her, is a firecracker as well. She is so lucky to be a girl.

Wonder_Woman_

Who run the world? Girls!
Who run this motha? Girls!
Who run the world? Girls!
Boy you know you love it
How we’re smart enough to make these millions
Strong enough to bare the children
Then get back to business
Girls, we run this motha (yeah!)
GIRLS!
Who run the world? Girls!

Happy International Women’s Day! Give thanks for all the firecrackers in your life.

Comments
  1. Helen says:

    What a great story. So so true, I love what you wrote about Grandma she truly is the strongest woman I know. She raised three very strong women. She taught us that you can live a traditional life style but still be a very powerful presence in the world. She let us know that we could be and do anything that we wanted. She was and still is always there for her family, love you mom.

    • tebby62 says:

      Absolutely wonderful! I really like the part about a woman doing things for a man because she loves and RESPECTS him, not because of social pressures, what somebody says, or even worse fear! You have obviously learned well from the women in your life, just as my daughters have.

Leave a Reply

